93rd Annual Academy Awards – RECAP – 04/26/2021

Nomadland won Best Picture at the Oscars last night (4-25) during the 93rd Academy Awards show.

Frances McDormand, who also starred in the film, won Best Actress. Praised and nominated for its cinematography, she asked that people – please watch the movie on a big screen. She also let out a howl at the end of her speech, in respect to Michael Wolf Snyder, the movie’s sound mixer who recently committed suicide. The film celebrated three awards in all, including Chloe Zhao’s win for Best Directing.

The film, Mank won for Best Cinematography.

As for Best Actor, Joaquin Phoenix opened the envelope and announced Anthony Hopkins as the winner for his role in The Father. Hopkins did not attend the event. At 83, he now becomes the oldest-ever acting Oscar winner.

What is sure to be the viral moment of the evening was when Glenn Close stood up to dance to “Da Butt” by E.U., a song from Spike Lee’s film, School Daze.

The show started with Regina King, the One Night in Miami director, strutting  down the red carpet and onto the stage to get the show going. She explained how everyone in the audience was vaccinated and tested and that the show would run like a movie… “When the cameras were on, the masks would be off and when the cameras were off, the masks would be on.”

The ceremony was held at Union Station in Los Angeles and The Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. Some winners accepted from other locations.


  • Laura Dern announced the winner for Best International Feature Film.
  • Brad Pitt announced Best Actress in a Supporting Role. Maria Bakalova blushed when he complimented her for her nomination.
  • Harrison Ford explained the importance of a movie editor and shared editorial notes from Blade Runner.
  • Reese Witherspoon announced the winner for Best Animated Short.
  • At the end of her acceptance speech, Frances McDormand said, “Give this one to our Wolf” and looked up and howled.
  • Halle Berry presented the Oscars for both – Production Design and Cinematography.
  • Glenn Close stood up from her table and proved she could dance to E.U.’s “Da Butt.”
  • Joaquin Phoenix presented for Actor in a Leading Role. Winner Anthony Hopkins for The Father was unable to attend.
  • Renee Zellweger presented for Actress in a Leading Role.
  • Some audience members accepted via zoom from the British Film Institute in London and other locations.
  • Bryan Cranston appeared from the Dolby Theatre to tell the history of the Humanitarian Award.


  • Best Picture: Nomadland – Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey and Chloe Zhao (producers)
  • Best Actress: Frances McDormand  for Nomadland
  • Best Actor: Anthony Hopkins – The Father
  • Best Supporting Actress: Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari
  • Best Supporting Actor: Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Original Screenplay: Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell
  • Adapted Screenplay: The Father – Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller
  • Animated Short Film: If Anything Happens, I Love You – Will McCormack and Michael Govier
  • International Feature Film: Another Round – Denmark- Director, Thomas Vinterberg
  • Documentary Feature: My Octopus Teacher – Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster
  • Documentary Short Subject: Colette – Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard
  • Live Action Short Film: Two Distant Strangers – Travon Free and Martin Desmond Roe
  • Animated Feature Film: Soul – Pete Doctor and Dana Murray
  • Directing: Chloe Zhao for Nomadland
  • Original Song:  Fight For You – from Judas and the Black Messiah – H.E.R., Dernst Emile II and Tiara Thomas
  • Makeup And Hairstyling:  Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Sergio Lopez Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson.
  • Cinematography: Erik Messerschmidt for Mank
  • Film Editing: Mikkele E. G. Nielsen – Sound of Metal
  • Production Design: Mank – Production design, Donald Graham Burt Set decoration, Jan Pascale     
  • Sound: Sound Of Metal – Nicolas Becker, Jamie Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortes, and Philip Bladh
  • Original Score: Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and Jon Batiste
  • Costume Design: Ann Roth – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Humanitarian Award: Motion Picture Television Fund
  • Jean Hershold Humanitarian Award – Tyler Perry